Sunday, June 15, 2008

I got groped

Last Thursday I was waiting for the metro train just like I always do at 8:35 in the morning for my morning commute. The express train pulled up and opened its doors, and we all filed in like cattle and packed in like potatoes. I was one of the last ones in the train so I was right next to the doors. As is customary, some overzealous bystander couldn't wait for the next express train coming 30 seconds later and hurled himself onto the train using the handrails in order to thrust his body into the train car (and prevent us from pushing him back out). We all groaned and sucked in our guts a little tighter.

A few seconds later, I felt a knee bend towards the direction of in between my legs. I also felt a gentle graze on my rear. I knew it was the skinny little Asian kid who had hurled himself onto the train moments ago because the only other person who could have touched me was the giant male standing behind me - and there was no way those bony little fingers didn't belong to the skinny Asian kid with glasses!

I reasoned that the touch must have been an accident, so I re-aligned my position but there was barely any space to move. I felt another touch and made an even bolder move to get away. People must have thought I was just fidgety. Then, as the doors opened at my stop and I made a lean towards the less polluted air and stepped onto the platform, I experienced a full-fledged rear-end grab! There was no room for guessing whether or not it was an accident. I spun around and pushed the kid in the shoulder while looking at him and saying, "are you touching me?" Instead of trying to stay on the train he scurried off into the crowd. I made eye contact with a woman behind him and said, "he just grabbed my rear end!" The woman stopped, eyes as big as saucers, and asked me if I was serious. We both nodded our heads in disbelief. She then said that she had noticed the kid had been acting weird ever since he got on the train. We kept nodding and walked off. Although in disbelief, we couldn't let the incident cause us to not get to work on time.

When I got to work, I tried to call the cops. I had to call seven different numbers to get to the right jurisdiction. I at first wondered if I should report the incident because the NYPD always has bigger fish to fry, but I reasoned that even if reporting the incident didn't help me it might help start a paper trail on the guy if he were to get caught doing something more severe in the future. 

Two cops came to my office and took the report. They were nice about it, but I could tell they thought it was a little non-sensical that I was making a report on something so trivial. It sure made me feel better, though, to at least get the incident on paper. It also made me feel better that if I ever saw the kid again I could just call the NYPD, reference the incident #, and have them come get the culprit. I can't say that I'm not waiting for the day.

No comments: